Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Other Talk
Reload this Page >

Dilemma: Thief at the Workplace Puts all Jobs at Risk... What Would You Do ?

Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

Old 09-29-19, 12:41 AM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

I work as a Custodian for an elementary school on the 3pm-11pm shift and have been there around 10 years or so. There are a total of 5 employees on my shift. Around 5 years ago a new employee was hired on our shift who the boss, or Head Custodian immediately took a liking to. On our shift we have a "Night Lead". Our previous night lead unfortunately died a few years ago & even though this new employee was just made full time a month prior, our boss decided to give him the Night Lead position. This new employee & myself grew considerably close whom I considered a friend, however, he is a major thief. I knew he would take "small" things here & there that probably would never be missed. However, for the last few months, he would stay behind after all of us would leave which seemed suspicious to all of us especially when we would stand by the scan out machine waiting for 11pm to scan out & get out of there. One night I was on my way home, and 2 minutes in I realized I forgot something in my locker and headed back to grab it. I caught him carrying 2 full garbage bags to his car. Being that the bags were black, I could not see what the contents were. Not too long ago he was drinking on the job & started bragging (to me) about everything he steals on a regular basis. Money from the teachers desks, food from the kitchen which is purchased in bulk to feed the students, so it's a very large amount. We get deliveries of HP ink toners every few months which someone mentioned some were very expensive. He immediately started pricing them on his phone. When I (used) to sell on eBay, I asked the guys to grab empty boxes they could find to use to ship the items I sold. Soon as he heard I was an eBay seller, he immediately asked to c