Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

Murder on my street overnight

Old 06-09-19, 07:51 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Murder on my street overnight

As many of you are aware I am a Peace Officer for the town I live in. Put simply it is one form of PT Police Officer. We have police powers while on duty but are civilians while off duty.

I worked the Fireman's Carnival last night until almost 2 in the morning. This morning I wake up and my wife tells me my phone is going off and the Police Chief is trying to get a hold of me. "It must have something to do with down the street. There are twenty cop cars on the corner." Turns out a guy shot his roommate for making too much noise. Called 911 to turn himself in. Cops showed up, he was on the porch as promised, gun unloaded as promised. I was there all day as we were blocking off all or parts of the neighborhood to keep lookyloos away and so police and ME could come and go.

Couple interesting things which destroy your hope for humanity. First Neighbors were bitching about not getting their paper because parts of the road were closed and the guy couldn't deliver. Really? You're worried about your goddamned paper? No one knew the details yet so there was no guarantee the danger was over and they were worried about the newspaper.