Reload this Page >

Anyone here use the Robinhood app?

Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

Old 06-02-19, 08:03 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Asking for feedback from anyone actively using this app - its supposed to be a commission-fee trading platform. I'm thinking it can potentially save me some money since I occasionally make trades ($6.95 per trade) and it can quickly add up. Not sure what the downside is. I heard that it is a no-frills app but I don't need all the bells and whistles anyway.
Old 06-03-19, 09:29 AM

Re: Anyone here use the Robinhood app?

Yup, I've been using it for about 6 months. No-frills basic functionality, but commission-free and does what I need. No issues thus far. They do offer a premium version with added features for a small subscriber fee. I haven't looked into it much.
Old 06-03-19, 12:01 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

agreed. simple to use. I've been buying/selling stocks here and there for a bit. For a free service I'm enjoying it
Old 06-03-19, 12:05 PM

What's the catch?
Old 06-04-19, 01:56 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Originally Posted by Groucho View Post
What's the catch?
I believe that you still pay regulatory and possibly routing fees. I don't think they pay out interest on unused cash either. You're not getting the advanced features of bigger online brokerages - but it's good and definitely cheaper for everyday trades.

Old 06-04-19, 03:25 PM
DVD Talk Hero

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts

What's the catch?
Investor psychology. The lower the fees, the more trades people make. And since, for example, most people "day trading" don't know what the heck they are doing, then the more trades they make, the more money they lose, the more money they lose, the more trades they make to try and get back what they lost. Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!
Old 06-05-19, 07:26 AM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Originally Posted by eXcentris View Post