Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Other Talk
Reload this Page >

Anyone good with Engines/Mechanics? Re: Snowblower

Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

Old 01-21-19, 09:10 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Should start by saying I have very little experience with mechanical engines. I grew up in a house where I learned about electronics/computers. I brought out my snowblower on Saturday for the storm we got yesterday. Made sure the oil was good and filled the gas. The engine wouldn't start at all. It would turn over with the pull start but not start up, regardless of how much I tried. Outside of looking for lose connections anywhere, I wasn't able to figure it out. The machine is only 3 years old and we keep it in our shed.

The only thing I could think of which I wasn't sure how to check was the possibility that the primer line somehow froze and gas wasn't getting gas into the engine. Or maybe a spark plug somewhere? Thankfully we got way less snow than expected so I just bit the bullet and pulled out the old shovel. I'd like to make sure it's working for the next storm though. Any ideas on what I can check to troubleshoot? It ran with no issues all last year. Troy-Bilt, if that matters. Appreciate any advice.
Old 01-21-19, 09:34 AM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Re: Anyone good with Engines/Mechanics? Re: Snowblower

Did you use any type of fuel stabilizer when you put it away after its last use? How long has it been sitting?

If not, your fuel could be bad. And by that, I mean fuel that was left in the carburetor/lines and the tank.

You can check the plug by taking it out and (with the cap installed) holding the end against a metal part of the engine, while someone pulls the starter cord.

You should be able to see the spark. Be careful, however, to only hold it by the insulated cap. You can get a nasty shock, otherwise.

Also, while the plug is out, you should smell a bit of fuel, while you're checking the spark.
Old 01-21-19, 09:39 AM
DVD Talk Legend