Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Other Talk
Reload this Page >

Confused about booking a hotel across international date line

Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

Confused about booking a hotel across international date line

Old 08-14-16, 07:14 PM
  #1  
DVD Talk Legend
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: NYC
Posts: 17,018
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Confused about booking a hotel across international date line

I'm going to Korea and Japan for three weeks next month, and although this isn't my first time overseas, it is the first time I'm booking the hotels separately from the flights. Korea and Japan are 16 hours ahead of Seattle, but none of the hotel websites have a time zone drop down for the date pickers, which is making me super paranoid about booking the wrong dates. The Agoda.com FAQ says the date picker is in my local time, but that seems incredibly stupid if true. The rest don't say anything about it.

So how does this work? Are bookings in the local time of the hotel? Or my local time?

For reference, here's my current itinerary:

Sep 07 Seoul Arrive 5:45 PM KST / Sep 7 at 1:45 AM PST
Sep 08 Seoul
Sep 09 Seoul Depart 3:20 PM KST / Sep 8 at 11:20 PM PST
-------- Kyoto Arrive 5:05 PM JST / Sep 9 at 8:05 AM PST
Sep 10 Kyoto
Sep 11 Kyoto
Sep 12 Kyoto
Sep 13 Kyoto
Sep 14 Kyoto
Sep 15 Kyoto Depart 12 PM Noon JST / Sep 14 at 8:00 PM PST
-------- Tokyo Arrive 3 PM JST / Sep 14 at 11:00 PM PST
Sep 16 Tokyo
Sep 17 Tokyo
Sep 18 Tokyo
Sep 19 Tokyo
Sep 20 Tokyo
Sep 21 Tokyo
Sep 22 Tokyo
Sep 23 Tokyo
Sep 24 Tokyo Depart 3:55 PM JST / Sep 23 at 11:55 PM PST

Seoul 2 Nights, Kyoto 6 Nights, Tokyo 9 Nights

Any ideas?
Old 08-14-16, 07:26 PM
  #2  
DVD Talk Ruler
 
General Zod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 21,518
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Re: Confused about booking a hotel across international date line

Hotel local time.
Old 08-14-16, 07:29 PM
  #3  
DVD Talk Legend
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: NYC
Posts: 17,018
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Re: Confused about booking a hotel across international date line

Well that was easy. Thanks!
Old 08-14-16, 07:38 PM
  #4  
Psi
DVD Talk Hall of Fame
 
Psi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 9,468
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Re: Confused about booking a hotel across international date line

Yes, that's right. Everything is based on local time, including flight times unless specified otherwise.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.