Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Other Talk
Reload this Page >

Longest period of time you were unemployed or didn't have stable work?

Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics
View Poll Results: Longest period you were unemployed or didn't have stable work?
A few weeks
12.33%
1-3 months
13.70%
4-6 months
10.96%
7-9 months
12.33%
10-12 months
6.85%
13 months or longer
27.40%
Have never been unemployed. Consider myself lucky
12.33%
Self employed/Own my own business
4.11%
Voters: 73. You may not vote on this poll

Old 08-02-16, 05:40 PM
DVD Talk Godfather

Last month was the 5 year anniversary of when I got laid off from my long-time staff job and was forced into the unknown abyss of Unemployment.

I was employed at FOX Sports for 14 years since I graduated from college in 1997. Back in 2011, they had massive cutbacks and cancelled the show I worked on, thus leaving me jobless. They actually gave me 1 month notice. Announced it to me and a few other colleagues in a meeting in early June and I was officially done in the 1st week of July. I got a 6 month severance, cashed out all my remaining sick and vacation time and I also cashed out my pension.

I admit, I was scared shitless. It was my 1st time experiencing that. Was wondering all kinds of things like how was I going to pay my bills, pay my rent, have any money saved for a rainy day.