Reload this Page >

Car buying advice...

Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

Car buying advice...

Old 04-27-16, 11:47 AM
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Car buying advice...

I have a quick question about buying a new car. In the past, I have always financed through the dealership and then after the fact I would immediately refinance with my credit union. I am pretty sure that I lose some money when the loan is transferred/refinanced by doing it this way. However, I have always thought that this allowed me to get the best deal from the dealership because they are more willing to give you a break on the vehicle and other options if you finance through them. However, I am far from an expert on this and I could be 100% off base.

Should I have my credit union prepared to finance the loan before heading to the dealership or is waiting until after the smarter play?

Thanks for your help!
Old 04-27-16, 11:49 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Re: Car buying advice...

I'd check to see what the best rate your credit union can give you and ask the dealer if they can match it. They probably will since they get a kickback for in-house financing. If not, go with your own loan. You really should be coming to agreement on the purchase and trade in prices prior to discussing loan options.
Old 04-27-16, 11:52 AM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

I'd be surprised if they would give you a break that could be circumvented by immediately paying them off with your own financing.

Also, most places have cash incentives that save you money, rather than financing through them.
Old 04-27-16, 12:02 PM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Received 5 Likes on 2 Posts