Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

Job Advice Please...

Old 12-19-15, 10:26 PM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

Job Advice Please...

So here's the breakdown of my situation:

I'm in my late 30s, on disability for mental illness but am allowed to work part-time. (I don't HAVE to work--which might sound like paradise to some, but believe me, it's not it's cracked up to be.)

I've been unemployed for 5 and a half years.

I've had 9 psychiatric hospitalizations (in a 9 year period) except for the last 4 years where my condition has FINALLY gotten more stable.

I'm a high school graduate (1997), but I have no college degree, though I've taken enough classes to almost get an Associates in Arts degree.

I live in a college town and am in competing for jobs for young, good-looking 20 somethings with connections.

I'm volunteering at 3 different volunteer jobs--one at the city Chamber of Commerce. I've also taken some Goodwill courses.

I have no car.

I've gone to many job interviews, but at present no takers. (I got one call back from an interviewer saying that though I didn't get the job, they said they were impressed by my interview and would keep me on file).

I'm not sure if I should continue on with looking for work, or should I just go back to college and get a degree and *then* look for work. Someone said, since I've been out of work that since I've been out of the workforce for so long that I'm mentally/physically deconconditioned from work. Maybe I should start at a job first, and condition myself first. And maybe see if I should do online courses (for what I have no idea).

I'm lost. Could I get some advice?
Old 12-19-15, 10:33 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Re: Job Advice Please...

I'm sure all the people I work with would love if I went on a mental leave of absence.

I also am not good with time off.

I have no advice, but best of luck Pat
Old 12-20-15, 10:04 AM