Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Other Talk
Reload this Page >

Do people still go to High School Reunions?

Other Talk "Otterville"

Old 10-02-15, 08:10 AM
DVD Talk Legend & 2021 TOTY Winner

Received 422 Likes on 212 Posts

I graduated High School in 1995. There were probably between 200-300 kids in my graduating class. My 20 year reunion is tomorrow. 69 people have purchased tickets, and at least a third of those are spouses who didn't go to our school.

Do people still go to reunions, or does my class just suck? Has social media killed the need for reunions, with people figuring that they keep in touch with everyone that they care to on Facebook, so why go to the reunion?

Full disclosure, I'm one of those who has not purchased tickets, so I'm part of the problem, but I was waiting to see who else was going. There's an event page that lists everyone who has purchased tickets, and there just aren't very many people attending that I'm interested in seeing. I'm also wondering if that feature hasn't hurt attendance rather than helped it, as I bet there were a lot of others doing what I was doing.
Old 10-02-15, 08:31 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 32 Likes on 22 Posts
Re: Do people still go to High School Reunions?

I have never been to one of mine. Mainly because I just don't give a shit.
Old 10-02-15, 08:44 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by cdollaz View Post
This.
Old 10-02-15, 08:49 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 132 Likes on 90 Posts

I went to my 25th high school reunion a few weeks ago. Even with social media it's nice to get together in one place. It was a fun time and I got to see a few classmates that I did not see at other reunions including a German exchange student from our senior year. He was in the US for business and made it to the reunion.
Old 10-02-15, 08:52 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 77 Likes on 56 Posts