Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Other Talk
Reload this Page >

What's expected from a computer tech help desk operator?

Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

Old 10-14-14, 04:49 PM

I have a 4 year IT degree from 8 years ago but honestly what I learned is out of date except for hardware like putting a PC together.

I have a job opportunity at a hospital to be a computer tech help desk operator and I'm worried that they'll think I'm am idiot in the interview next week.

I mean if they start pulling the networking and database questions out I'm boned!!!

How much can I learn in 6 days to get the job?
Old 10-14-14, 04:57 PM
Banned

Re: What's expected from a computer tech help desk operator?

Old 10-14-14, 04:59 PM
DVD Talk Legend

You'll be fine, most interviews don't get too in-depth with technical stuff, it's more of an opportunity to sell yourself as an employee. I would start looking into networking though, it's a good skill to have in IT.
Old 10-14-14, 05:06 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Job interview usually quizzing your experience, your personality, and little things. If you got job, then they will show you how to do with stuff. Don't worry about that. Just be positive and sell yourself.
Old 10-14-14, 05:08 PM
HN
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

how would you make a peanut butter and jelly sandwich?
Old 10-14-14, 05:11 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Originally Posted by leahcim View Post

I mean if they start pulling the networking and database questions out I'm boned!!!
Shh. You won't feel a thing.

Old 10-14-14, 05:42 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Old 10-14-14, 06:58 PM

Thx fellas, great replies for help and chuckles, DVD Talk members are the best!
Old 10-14-14, 07:04 PM
DVD Talk Legend