Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

Paypal and the IRS

Old 09-02-14, 04:35 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Paypal and the IRS

So I log on to Paypal this morning and I get a message that they want me to enter my social security number or tax id number if I want to continue using Paypal for my eBay auctions. I click on the link and it says they have to report your sales to the IRS if you reach BOTH 200 transactions AND $20,000 in gross sales. By my count I've had about 140 transactions and made about $3,500 since January 1. I've been selling on eBay for about 10 years and have never been asked for my social.

Is this some sort of phishing scam?
Old 09-02-14, 04:39 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Re: Paypal and the IRS

Amazon started requiring this a couple years ago. Even though I didn't even come close to the 200 tx/$20K threshold, they imposed their own criteria for requiring it, which was basically anyone who had more than 50 transactions regardless of $ amount.

Their rationale is they want it on file already so they don't have to ask you for it if you do exceed the IRS threshold. I elected to stop selling on Amazon.
Old 09-02-14, 04:41 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

I remember a couple years back they started doing this. It upset buyers a lot because it was as if the IRS thought eBay selling was a job for most, so that must mean everyone.
I would use caution but the situation is legit. I cant wait for the day IRS auditors start going out on weekends, scouting garage/yard sales.
Old 09-02-14, 11:53 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

So I called Paypal and the person I spoke with said it was unusual for me to get the request because I'm not even at 10% of the gross sales amount. It's apparently triggered when you start getting close. He told me not to worry about it. Weird.
Old 09-03-14, 12:20 AM
DVD Talk Legend