Reload this Page >

School Me On Life Insurance....

Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

Old 10-30-11, 03:43 AM
DVD Talk Hero

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

So since I have become a father, it's been more important to me to have life insurance just in case. My wife has some sort of policy through GAFRI, but all I know is they take something like $300-$500 every couple of months out of her check and put it in an account.

Apparently we can take money from the account (about 10% of it) or close it entirely, and get it all back minus a few hundred bucks. I guess it's considered Whole and not Term? I am new to this, I just read some stuff online, but I figured I'd ask you guys first.

Now here is my big question. Say we have ten grand in the account. If something happens, do they just take that ten grand and send it to us? Or is there some big 100k or what not windfall that kicks in? I'm sure it says on a contract somewhere, I just haven't had the chance to look for it.

I think I'd rather pay for some big policy than have a glorified savings account. I could put that money in the bank and earn interest.

Thoughts?
Old 10-30-11, 05:46 AM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Re: School Me On Life Insurance....

There are so many different life insurance products that it's hard to tell without reading the policy.

Term life insurance is for a specific time period, say ten years. You pay for ten years then it expires and you have nothing.

Whole life you pay premiums for the rest of your life. The policy accrues cash value which you can borrow against. If you decide to cancel the policy you can take the cash value.

Yours sounds like an insurance/investment combo. There is the face value/death benefit amount(ex: $100,000). The cash value amount which increases over time, and an accumulation value.