Reload this Page >

YACBT: Tips for e-mail haggling?

Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

Old 11-14-10, 09:34 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

It's been 13 years since I bought a new car, so I have no experience with internet buying. The dealership I'm looking at is 5 hours away, so I want a deal done on the internet before I go. What's a fair percentage above invoice to pay? An article on edmunds.com said that internet sales were more about volume than individual profits, so you might pay less that way. Also, do they still try to nail you with all the warranty, protective coating, etc. crap when you go to pick up your car, or is the deal really completely done through e-mails?
Old 11-14-10, 09:52 AM

Re: YACBT: Tips for e-mail haggling?

Depends on the car, and you can't really go by what Edmunds says.. I ordered a car last month for invoice, and Edmunds was recommending a price that was about $800 higher than what I paid.

The kicker? I found out that some people were paying as much as $500 UNDER invoice, as the dealers are getting a $1000 holdback from the manufacturer..

In these tough times, the buyer is in the drivers seat.. Negotiate hard, and get quotes from multiple dealerships. Use these quotes against each other to get the absolute best price you can!
Old 11-14-10, 01:00 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

I have never done it, but if looking for a new car, price one out on carsdirect.com. Also, read this site: http://www.carbuyingtips.com/carintro.html
Old 11-14-10, 09:53 PM
DVD Talk Hero

Originally Posted by Officer Cartman View Post
Depends on the car, and you can't really go by what Edmunds says.. I ordered a car last month for invoice, and Edmunds was recommending a price that was about $800 higher than what I paid.

The kicker? I found out that some people were paying as much as $500 UNDER invoice, as the dealers are getting a $1000 holdback from the manufacturer..