Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

Best Man Speech

Old 04-26-09, 09:52 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Best Man Speech

The tux thread reminded me I am going to be a "Best Man" in a wedding at the end of the month.

I have never been best man before, and i was wondering about the speech/toast.

I have no fear of speaking, being a former grad student, I can talk about any topic for an hour.

But as for the speech, how long should it be, 5 minutes, 10? Do I focus mostly on the groom, since the maid of honor will talk about the bride?

Any suggestions will be appreciated. Also, before anybody asks, I didn't have sex with the bride, so there is no reason to mention it!
Old 04-26-09, 09:53 PM
X
Administrator

Re: Best Man Speech

You should focus mainly on the bride.
Old 04-26-09, 09:56 PM
DVD Talk God

Focus mainly on humor in a way that shows that men are stupid and women are controlling. The only reason it is funny is becuase it keeps the tears at bay.
Old 04-27-09, 01:36 AM
Banned

Quote Jason Segals speech from "I Love you man."
Old 04-27-09, 05:21 AM
DVD Talk Hero

My buddy had his dad be the best man, but told me 10 minutes before time the he wanted me to give the toast. I said something like:

I want to first thank Joe and Mary for letting us celebrate this great day with them. I met Mary about a year ago. The first thing I noticed about Mary was how beautiful she was. And Mary, you look especially beautiful today. Through this past year, I got to know Mary and realized not only that she was beautiful but smart as well. She is kind, loving and very caring. Joe is very lucky.