Reload this Page >

Vegetarians/Vegans: Why?

Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion and Politics

Old 12-26-08, 09:56 AM
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Is there a reason why you choose to be meat-less eater? And are you a super hippie? eg- green peace forever, meat is murder, etc,etc ?
Old 12-26-08, 10:26 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Old 12-26-08, 11:05 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Originally Posted by Mole177 View Post
Is there a reason why you choose to be meat-less eater? And are you a super hippie? eg- green peace forever, meat is murder, etc,etc ?
lol.
Old 12-26-08, 11:06 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Personally, I’ve been a vegan for over six years now. I am NOT a hippie nor am I radical of any sort. I’m a Democrat-leaning political moderate who goes to church on at least a weekly basis. I’m a law student, I like corporations and I have a stock portfolio (or what’s left of one).

As for the why, that’s easy. The primary reason is that I have no desire to unnecessarily harm and kill innocent life. I grew up eating a lot of beef and bacon but I gave it up once I realized all the suffering behind it and I haven’t looked back since. The fact that the diet is also significantly better for the environment and possibly my health are just bonuses.
Old 12-26-08, 11:12 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Location: (formerly known as Inglenook Hampendick) Fairbanks, Alaska!
Received 23 Likes on 13 Posts
Mmmmm, Vegan.

Old 12-26-08, 11:34 AM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Location: Northern New Jersey...or as we say it "Sopranos Country USA"
I did it for health reasons. I needed to lose weight and when I assessed my diet, I was taking in a lot of junk and most of it was from eating meat. So I cut the meat out and I am down 30 lbs.