Reload this Page >

Should I report this company?

Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

Old 05-05-08, 11:20 PM
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

First of all, I didn't buy anything from this place. I figured out what was happening pretty quickly and took off, so there's no lawsuit, BBB complaint, etc. to be filed. However, this place is still very shady, and I'm wondering if I should send a complaint to the state attorney general's office. Here's the story:

Last week, I went to buy a diamond necklace and took a look at loose diamonds at a local jeweler (D. Geller & Sons for anyone in Atlanta*). I took a look at a diamond that they claimed was a GIA VVS2 clarity. Since it's GIA (and they graded it on site), that mean it should be VS1 to VVS1. Well, before I could take out a loupe, I could immediately see obvious inclusions with the naked eye. Well, I'm no expert, but I'm there's no way I should see inclusions with the naked eye in a stone rated for that clarity. So, I tell the guy it's not a VVS2 diamond. He prompty pulls out the GIA report and hands it to me, and shows me where the stock number matches.

Problem #1: They're trying to pass off something that's SI1 or SI2 or worse as a VVS2. I should have taken off there, but I drove a while to get out there, so I wanted to stick it out for a few more minutes.

Here's the real "gotcha". So, I'm literally holding the GIA report for the "VVS2" when they come out with a new diamond with no obvious inclusions. I put that report from my hand and under my elbow (my arm/hand was in constant contact with the report at all times) and looked under a loupe. Absolutely, 100%, a different diamond (probably a VS1 or VS2). When I ask to see the GIA report, he points to the one under my arm, and shows me where the stock number matches. Whoops.

Problem #2: There was 1 GIA report with 1 stock number, but two very different diamonds that shared that stock number and GIA report.