Reload this Page >

Question about marrying a non-citizen?

Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

Old 04-21-08, 11:47 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

So thinking about getting hitched, only problem is she is not American. Anyone have any experience with this? We were wanting to get married and get her a green card b/c we are planning on going to Japan for a year and then want to be able to get her back into America?

Suggestions? I am a bit new to all of this.
Old 04-22-08, 01:53 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
She's not marrying you BECAUSE of the green card?
Old 04-22-08, 02:11 AM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

We were prob going to get married in a few years anyway but I really wanted to work in Japan and live with her for a year. but if we do that her work visa will run out and she won't be able to come back so I figured we should just get married now.
Old 04-22-08, 02:48 AM
DVD Talk Legend

If you didn't marry and went to Japan, would her visa let her back in after the year was up?

And keep in mind that if you do get married and file the permanent residency papers the next day, it could still be 12 or 18 months before she gets her green card. A couple more things:

http://www.uscis.gov/portal/site/usc...0045f3d6a1RCRD

International Travel
A Permanent Resident of the United States can travel freely outside of the US. A passport from the country of citizenship is normally all that is needed. To reenter the US a Permanent Resident normally needs to present the green card (Permanent Resident Card, Form I-551) for readmission. A reentry permit is needed for reentry for trips greater than one year but less than two years in duration.

You can find more information about travel documents from "How Do I Get a Travel Document?"

Maintaining Permanent Residence
... You may be found to have abandoned your permanent resident status if you:

Move to another country intending to live there permanently.