Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Other Talk
Reload this Page >

Legal question: When is it okay to record a conversation (in IL)?

Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

Old 02-07-08, 08:02 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Does anyone know the law for IL? I know some states you can't unless you notify them first, but I don't want to notify.
Old 02-07-08, 08:14 AM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

I'm not an expert in Illinois law, but every website I've seen lists Illinois as a state where all parties have to consent to recording.
Old 02-07-08, 09:08 AM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Originally Posted by Lee Harvey Oswald
Does anyone know the law for IL? I know some states you can't unless you notify them first, but I don't want to notify.
Hmm, Lee Harvey Oswald is worried about the legality of taping a conversation with someone...
Old 02-07-08, 10:21 AM
DVD Talk Hero

Received 21 Likes on 14 Posts
http://www.rcfp.org/taping/

720 Ill. Compiled Stat. Ann. 5/14-1, -2: An eavesdropping device cannot be used to record or overhear a conversation without the consent of all parties to the conversation under criminal statutes. An eavesdropping device is anything used to hear or record a conversation, whether the conversation is in person or conducted by any means other than face-to-face conversation, such as a telephone conversation.

In addition, it is criminally punishable to disclose information one knows or should know was obtained through an eavesdropping device. Offenses of the eavesdropping law are punishable as felonies, with first offenses categorized as lesser felonies than subsequent offenses. 720 Ill. Compiled Stat. Ann. 5/14-4. Civil liability for actual and punitive damages is authorized as well. 720 Ill. Compiled Stat. Ann. 5/14-6.