Reload this Page >

My First Car Accident. Advice?

Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

Old 01-30-08, 05:51 AM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have been driving for 13 years and have never had an accident. But tonight a woman plowed into me at a stoplight while I was completely stopped. She hit me so hard that it pretty much destroyed the back end of my car, pushed me into the car in front of me, and the car in front of him, so 4 cars total. The man driving the fourth car received only a light tap and ended up just driving away after leaving his phone number.

I had the breath knocked out of me but am really not in any kind of pain other than a stiff back. We all exchanged information, the cops showed up but filed no report that i know of because no one was hurt, and then we all left. Even though my back end is pretty mangled, it seemed that I could drive home, but on the way it was very wobbly and I drove 30 miles an hour down the freeway because I felt completely unsafe in the car.

But what worries me and what I would like some opinions on is what happened next. Keep in mind I have never been involved in an accident or an insurance claim of any kind. About thirty minutes after I got home, the woman who hit me called me because she said she forgot to take down my license plate number. I gave it to her... and then she proceeded to rant and rave for almost ten minutes. Basically she just flat out asked me to tell her insurance that the man in front of me slammed on his brakes, which in return made me slam on mine, and resulted in her hitting me. This, she said, would take us completely off the hook with our insurance companies and blame the man in front of me. "If our stories match up, it will be 2 against 1," she said. I did not confirm or deny that I would do this, but when we hung up she seemed to think that I would.