Reload this Page >

Thinking about joining the Air Force...

Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

Old 10-17-06, 03:49 PM
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Here's the deal, I'll be 29 years old early next year. I have a bachelors degree in communications, but I don't have what I would call a "career" or anything that looks like it could become one.

I've tossed around the idea of going back to school, but I hate the idea of taking out more loans. Not to mention the fact that I would still have to go job hunting when I was done again anyway.

I would also love to be "forced" into getting in shape and losing weight. I've done it on my own before and put the weight right back on. Now I can't seem to get motivated to do it again.

So what would the risks be? I wouldn't do it if there was even a slight chance that I could be sent to Iraq (that wouldn't happen in the air force, right?). I would hope to just go right into officer training. Maybe get an education in telecommunications and/or computer stuff.

Am I too old? Do I already have to be in good shape before I can sign up? Anyone think I'm just plain crazy?
Old 10-17-06, 03:51 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

What risks? I guess like you said.. Going to Iraq. I have no idea if that would happen or not but the chance alone would keep me away.
Old 10-17-06, 03:52 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

you could still go to iraq
Old 10-17-06, 03:54 PM
DVD Talk God

You may want to consider the fact that in the Navy, you could sail the seven seas.

Honestly, at your age, I wouldn't do it.
Old 10-17-06, 04:01 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Received 7 Likes on 3 Posts
This is a very, very bad idea. Do not join the military unless you're alright with going to a war zone. Also, realize that you might sign up for 4 years, but there's a good chance they would own your ass for a lot longer than that. If you want to learn telecommunications or computer stuff, find a local school with a good program.
Old 10-17-06, 04:02 PM