Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Other Talk
Reload this Page >

Looking for a Car

Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

Looking for a Car

Old 10-06-06, 02:56 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Looking for a Car

On Oct 1, I ruined the engine in my 96 Ford Taurus.
I still haven't decided whether to replace the engine or buy another car, but I am currently leaning towards a new car. And I am not really good at making the big decisions.

I'm mostly interested in reliability and value for a car. My current rental is a Camry, so I am getting some extended driving experience with that. Naturally, Accord and Civic are also high on my potential list.

I noticed a few makes, Hyundai and Mitsubishi, have 5yr warranties (and even longer for powertrain) and I like the look of the Eclipse. If we were going to rate reliability and give Camry/Accord a 10, what would these brands get?

There are others that I might be interested in, but I'm not sure how well they stack up long term. If I buy a new car, I would plan to keep it ten years or more.

Some other possible cars:

Mazda 3
Mazda 6
Nissan Altima
Infiniti G35 (pricey!)

Any advice?
Old 10-06-06, 08:17 AM
DVD Talk Hero

camry, accord, civic should be on your list

altima is OK as well

just buy a new car and junk the old one
Old 10-06-06, 08:29 AM
DVD Talk Legend

www.edmunds.com
Old 10-06-06, 10:59 AM
Needs to contact an admin about multiple accounts