Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Other Talk
Reload this Page >

Why is no one hiring me???

Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

Old 08-23-06, 11:13 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have been looking for a new job (still employeed) for almost 6 months now and in that time I have only gotten about 5 calls and no face to face interviews. I am an IT manager in the DC Metro Area with a friggin' clearance and I seem to be an undesirable hire.

I have no idea what I am missing that people are looking for. I have 13+ years IT experience, 10 IT certifications and am trying to finish up my BS in IT. Maybe the lack of degree is the problem. I am afraid the real problem is that I am "too" experienced.

Anyone have any insight into the DC job market as it relates to the IT field?
Old 08-23-06, 11:19 PM
DVD Talk Hero

uhm...there are probably more people than jobs.

Supply > Demand

-p
Old 08-23-06, 11:26 PM

Originally Posted by pedagogue
uhm...there are probably more people than jobs.

Supply > Demand

-p
Yeah, I hear what you are sayin'. I just keep hearing how in demand I am and not seeing it. A bit frustrating.
Old 08-23-06, 11:26 PM
DVD Talk Godfather

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Probably because you're not willing to take Part-time for chump change with no benefits. It seems that's all they're looking for these days.
Old 08-23-06, 11:35 PM

Originally Posted by Giantrobo
Probably because you're not willing to take Part-time for chump change with no benefits. It seems that's all they're looking for these days.
Yeah, I think that is part of the problem. I am paid really well but looking for something different hoping not to take a huge pay cut. I guess it really depends on how badly I want to change jobs.
Old 08-23-06, 11:43 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Maybe they think you want too much money? Or hasn't it even gotten that far?

With an active clearance, you should be able to move around freely in DC.