Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Other Talk
Reload this Page >

How long did you stay at your first "career" job after college?

Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

Old 07-05-06, 07:45 PM
DVD Talk Legend

I've been working for my current place of my employment for nearly 2 years, and it's my first job since I graduated from college in 2004. I get paid decently (I got promoted last September and this September I'll receive a 13% raise), but for the last several months I've been incredibly bored and lethargic at work, to the point where I really have to force myself to do any actual work. I'm not depressed or anything, but I feel I've learned all I can learn (all self-improvement on my own time or on the job). During my time I've made several noticeable improvements to "the old ways" of doing things before I came on board, gave presentations at conferences, etc. And while there's a very slim possibility that I could move into management here some day, it wouldn't be for several more years and I really doubt I'd even want the job (here, that is). It doesn't help that I'm the youngest person at the company of about 300 people (the average age is probably 45) and virtually the only person without a family, so I have no friends my age there.

Sooooo... long story short, I really want to move on, for my career and sanity. But will switching jobs after 2 years look bad to prospective employers? I'm a web applications developer, by the way, but I'm looking to branch out into related fields. One of the places I'm looking at is Amazon.com.

What do you guys think? How long did you stay at your first "career" job after college?
Old 07-05-06, 08:13 PM
DVD Talk Hero