Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

Yet another question about working out

Old 06-30-06, 01:10 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Yet another question about working out

Ok..a quick history before I get to my question. All through high school I was chubby..not FAT but chubby. After my junior year I really got into running and went from 225lbs to 175lbs. Despite being scrawny I always had a little bit of a gut. I also got into cycling a little because as I piled on the miles (40 a week) my knees started to ache.

So fast forward 9 years..

I'm still an avid runner/cyclist. I'm 6'1" and weigh around 185lbs..despite runner 15 miles and cycling 150 miles a week I still have a little gut. With summer here (I'm a teacher) I have plenty of time of my hands. I recently joined a gym and have been going everyday for a couple hours.

If I do bicep curls, or tricep presses one day (for example), can I do them the next day too? I don't do tons of weight (I don't want bulk) but I do push myself to failure. I'm stuggling to find new exercises everyday without repeating any from the day before...

Any advice/suggestions?
Old 06-30-06, 01:29 PM
DVD Talk Godfather

You need to give yourself 2 or 3 days rest on muscle exercises. Generally, do arms one day, back another, legs another, etc. Mix it up.

The gut is probably from diet. Cut out fat and calories, eat healthy and a mixture of fgood ("good" fat, protein, carbs) and it should go down.
Old 06-30-06, 01:32 PM
DVD Talk Legend

If you're doing weight training, you always want to give you muscles two days rest before you work that group again. They need that much time to rebuild themselves. Even at light weights it's still not a good idea. Try to work a different muscle group each day. For example, when I go to the gym Monday is for chest/shoulders, Tuesday is legs, Wednesday is arms (biceps and triceps), and Thursday is back/abs.

Last edited by Noonan; 06-30-06 at 01:35 PM.
Old 06-30-06, 01:39 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition