Reload this Page >

do home/condo prices ALWAYS go up?

Other Talk "Otterville"

Old 05-27-06, 03:42 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

in the long run of course. barring a catastrophe.

do they always end up going up in price? im not an econonics expert nor an expert in real estate values or anything like that (i dont know what controls market price with interest rates, etc) but overall do they always end up going up? and what defines "the long run"?

i bought a condo about a year ago and im wondering/hoping that it does end up going up. and NO i didnt buy it to invest, just to live. granted id like to make some money off of it (woudl be nice) but im more interested in not LOSING money on it. which seems inevitable now despite the fact that EVERYONE around me said it was a sure thing ("itll go up 5-10% a year!" yeah, right - id settle for 1% to just minimize my losses). they were all wrong apparently.

does my timing suck or what? i keep checking websites like zillow and it never goes up. and im in SoCal - i thought this area was suppose to be a hot area for real estate.

even if it stays the same price i lose money because of taxes, and then paying agents and escrow when you move and of course the cost of moving itself...

just venting. sometimes its frustrating to think about.
Old 05-27-06, 04:01 PM
DVD Talk Hero

1) No.
2) It's only been a year.

das
Old 05-27-06, 04:04 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
You can bank on inflation causing the price of the real estate to increase. I think we've averaged 2-3% for the last decade pretty easily.

After that, it's all about the location. (Haven't you heard that before?) Really depends on local economy, taxes, crime, businesses, and even a bit on interest rates.

Over the course of 30 years, I would be willing to bet that 99% of properties increase in value. However, if you're looking at the short term, there may be volatility -- and it can come from any of the above mentioned inputs.