Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Other Talk
Reload this Page >

If you were looking to buy a house, and the deed said this, would you buy?

Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

Old 02-03-06, 12:28 PM
DVD Talk God

GRANTEE HEREIN SHALL BE PROHIBITED FROM CONVEYING CAPTIONED PROPERTY TO A BONAFIDE PURCHASER FOR VALUE FOR A SALES PRICE OF GREATER THAN $___________________ FOR A PERIOD OF SIX MONTHS FROM THE DATE OF THIS DEED. GRANTEE SHALL ALSO BE PROHIBITED FROM ENCUMBERING SUBJECT PROPERTY WITH A SECURITY INTEREST IN THE PRINCIPAL AMOUNT OF GREATER THAN $________________ FOR A PERIOD OF SIX MONTHS FROM THE DATE OF THIS DEED. THESE RESTRICTIONS SHALL RUN WITH THE LAND AND ARE NOT PERSONAL TO GRANTEE.

THIS RESTRICTION SHALL TERMINATE IMMEDIATELY UPON CONVEYANCE AT ANY FORECLOSURE SALE RELATED TO A MORTGAGE OR DEED OF TRUST.
It's a new one on me, but seems to be happening more and more.
Old 02-03-06, 12:31 PM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

I have an English degree from an excellent school and deal with business/legal writing every day in my job. That said, looking at your post makes me feel like a complete moron. Could you translate that into "dumb-talk"? Thanks.

And bold, please.
Old 02-03-06, 12:32 PM
DVD Talk Legend

It sounds to me like "please don't buy my house and then turn around tomorrow and sell it for way more than you paid for it, or take out a big loan against it."
Old 02-03-06, 12:33 PM
DVD Talk Legend

What bullshit.
Old 02-03-06, 12:34 PM

It's the second part that confuses me most, about the "security interest."
Old 02-03-06, 12:35 PM
Enormous Genitals

Location: a small cottage on a cul de sac in the lower pits of hell.
Originally Posted by Vibiana
It sounds to me like "please don't buy my house and then turn around tomorrow and sell it for way more than you paid for it, or take out a big loan against it."

Yep. That's what it says. I wouldn't agree to it.
Old 02-03-06, 12:37 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame