Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

Did I overreact to the flowers?

Old 01-28-06, 11:54 AM
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition

Did I overreact to the flowers?

A little backstory:

I was dating a woman for a little over five weeks. Went out a few times, talked at least once every day over the phone. There was definitely mutual interest and we had a good time together the few times we "hung out," but we weren't anywhere near being "boyfriend/girlfriend." Recently we had been seeing each other less and less and it didn't seem like we were moving forward at all. An apparent lack of chemistry and incompatibility. Three days ago it seemed obvious that we were pretty much finished. Nothing dramatic, just didn't work out.

So yesterday I'm sitting in my faculty meeting (I'm a high school teacher) when the secretary taps me from behind and whispers that I had an "important package" at the front desk. A couple of hours later I walked to the office and there on the secretary's desk were a dozen long-stemmed pink roses. For me. Addressed to "Mr. [my last name here]." Easily a $70+ bouquet.

Naturally, all of my colleagues wanted to know what the hell was up and naturally I had to f'ing idea (I mean, FLOWERS?!). I opened the card (which read "I'm miserable without you") and all it said was "I made a mistake," "I delivered these in person because I know you're busy" and "I will call you after 9."

My first reaction? FEAR. Then irritation. Irritated at:

1. She addressed them to "Mr. ---" so a couple of my co-workers initially assumed they were sent by one of my STUDENTS.
2. She went weirdly WAY out of her way to hand deliver these to MY WORK. (Which, thankfully, was free of students as it was the end of the semester. I would have caught major hell from my students if they saw a dozen roses on my desk...or were in my room when they were delivered).