Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

Possibly up for a promotion. HELP!

Old 01-26-06, 09:27 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Possibly up for a promotion. HELP!

Ok, I've been working for this company for about two years and it seems like i have an opprotunity to move up a manager/owner positon. The company just had two managers/owners close up shops because lease problems and retirement, so i believe that the company is looking to either open up another store or to get a new manager/owner on board. I talked with my manager and implied that i was interested in getting one of these positions. He seemed interested or at the very least ok with the idea and told me that he would talk to the head guys about it.

Anyways, basically what do i do know? I don't really know the higher-ups all that well so its not like i can contact them all that easily. So, do i just wait for my manager to get back to me? If so, is there anything i should do in the meantime, like make up a business model, get info on the potential sites i'd be working, etc..? This would be my first time as a manager/owner, is there anything i need to know or be aware of? I've been a asst. manager for about 6 months now but i've never had to handle all the business aspects and personnal aspects like this. So any advice would be appreciated. I should find out in the next month if i got the job and where i would be going, most likely i would have to move too, but finally getting on salary and basically getting double what i was being paid Woo HOO!!!
Old 01-27-06, 02:12 AM
DVD Talk Limited Edition