Reload this Page >

My conversation with a door-to-door magazine seller

Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

Old 10-02-05, 03:17 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

A girl, probably nineteen, came to my door last night.

"Hi! I'm with the National Association of Whatever, and I'm going around finding out about the cool jobs that people have!"

"Okay."

"It's been fun meeting all kinds of friendly, non-violent people -- you are non-violent, right?"

(I laugh noncommittally.)

"Er... so... what cool job do you have?"

"I'm a consultant. Online stuff."

"Oh, so... like, selling Mary Kay? Those are the only consultants I know of."

"No, not like selling Mary Kay... so do you have a catalog of magazines I'm supposed to look at?"

(She feigns ignorance for a few seconds.) "Okay, yeah, it's right here. We're competing for this awesome vacation! (She shows me a picture of a cruise ship with the words, "$5,000 VACATION!" above it. No doubt she has spent many nights staring longingly at the photo.) So, can I put you down for ten?"

"No. But I'd like to ask you a few questions about your job. For starters, how many hours a week do you work?"

(She seems confused, as if she's never thought about it before.)

"Do you mean how many hours a day I work?"

"Sure."

"Well, let's see, I get up at around 10 in the morning, and we sell from 10:30 to noon. Then we go back out from 2-9 or so."

"And how many days a week do you work?"

"Six."

"And how much do they pay you for the 50 hours a week you work?"

"Oh, we get paid in points. But they give us an allowance each day for food. And we get to stay in a hotel."

"And how many people can win this trip? Does everyone get it once they get a certain number of points, or..?"

"Well, only one person can win."

"And how have you been doing this? Weeks, months?"

"I don't really know anymore! (laughs) Months, definitely. I suppose someone could keep doing it for years until they win."