Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

How should i negotiate for a new car?

Old 08-19-05, 04:04 AM

How should i negotiate for a new car?

This is my first time buying a car and i've never negotiated before. I'm want to but the Mazda3 s 2005. With the options its going for $20000, if i'm going to put 50% down, how should i play my cards to get a good deal? and what's a realistic amount that i would get off the sticker price? Thanks
Old 08-19-05, 04:14 AM
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition

i used carsdirect.com and printed out what i wanted.they had almost what i wanted but it had upgrades...i told them tough id go somewhere else and after 4 Hours they finaly matched it....

2003 ford van 25.5 sticker for 17.5.....

i tried the same for my wifes Camery but it did not work.

good luck,stay firm,tell them you`ll go somewhere else,and take your time.
Old 08-19-05, 06:32 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Originally Posted by NYSoprano
This is my first time buying a car and i've never negotiated before. I'm want to but the Mazda3 s 2005. With the options its going for $20000, if i'm going to put 50% down, how should i play my cards to get a good deal? and what's a realistic amount that i would get off the sticker price? Thanks
My wife got a 2004 Mazda 3 (the 5 door one, I don't remember what it's called) It was loaded with all the options except the Map System. I went in say that I would not pay a cent over $20,000 and there first offer was like $20,200. I wasn't ecpecting that so I threw out $19,800 or something like that and after talking to the "manager" they gave it to us at that price. If I had known about Edmunds then I would have used that to come up with a price

Despite being in sales I suck at negotiating so I hate buying cars. I think next time I'll just get quotes for a few places and have them compete against each other. That seems like the easiest way to do it.
Old 08-19-05, 06:42 AM