Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Other Talk
Reload this Page >

Searching for an apartment in NYC - where for art thou?

Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

Old 05-28-05, 01:45 PM

Any advice? I've gotten apts in the past, but not in NYC, which I hear is a whole new ballgame.

I'm looking to move in around mid - late July in the Morningside Heights area. Since I'm a college student (grad) price is definitely an object. So, the penthouse suite will have to stick to the celebrity types... unless they need a house sitter. Around 1,200 a month would be the optimum amount, leaving enough time to study and write those thesis thingies in between whoring myself out.

Any strategies or tips are not only welcomed, but highly encouraged .
Old 05-28-05, 01:47 PM
DVD Talk God

wait..
you want to live with art?
Old 05-28-05, 03:00 PM
Banned

Well...$1200 is MORE than enough for a good sized one bedroom depending on where you're looking. Morningside Heights would probably be affordable for you but there are places even closer than that to Manhattan. That's pretty far up there and it'd probably be easier to get to NYC from Queens or Brooklyn. If you need any help, let me know. More than happy to help.
Old 05-28-05, 03:26 PM

Are you looking at Morningside Heights because you will be going to Columbia, or are you open to other areas as well?
Old 05-28-05, 06:01 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Originally Posted by digitalfreaknyc
Well...$1200 is MORE than enough for a good sized one bedroom depending on where you're looking. Morningside Heights would probably be affordable for you but there are places even closer than that to Manhattan. That's pretty far up there and it'd probably be easier to get to NYC from Queens or Brooklyn. If you need any help, let me know. More than happy to help.