Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

Quick electrical question.

Old 04-29-05, 06:58 PM
DVD Talk Hero

Quick electrical question

I'm taking down an old light fixture and putting up a new one. The problem I have is there is no ground wire and no ground screw in the box (it is a plastic box). Of course the new light has a ground wire.

The house was build in 1976 and is copper wiring. I did a google and the best I can tell is I just shouldn't do anything with the ground and all should be ok??? Is that correct? I know, just do it and see what happens but I'm no electrician (obviously) so I don't want to do anything that is dangerous.

Thanks

Last edited by Sdallnct; 05-21-05 at 04:43 PM.
Old 04-29-05, 07:04 PM
DVD Talk God

Been there a few times. Just wire it without the ground. If you are really concerned, find an outlet that is closer to the breaker box but on the same circuit and put in a GFI.
Old 04-29-05, 07:06 PM
DVD Talk Hero

There should be a bare (or green insulated) wire coming out of the Romex cable along with the white and black. If there isn't, your house is not "to Code." My house was built in 1963 and all wiring has a ground wire. With plastic box, the ground wire from the Romex should connect to the ground terminal on a socket, or to the ground wire of a lamp.

Any chance this light was a later "add on?" I'd check more of your wiring. Something is wrong.
Old 04-29-05, 07:15 PM
DVD Talk Hero

Originally Posted by OldDude
There should be a bare (or green insulated) wire coming out of the Romex cable along with the white and black. If there isn't, your house is not "to Code." My house was built in 1963 and all wiring has a ground wire. With plastic box, the ground wire from the Romex should connect to the ground terminal on a socket, or to the ground wire of a lamp.

Any chance this light was a later "add on?" I'd check more of your wiring. Something is wrong.