Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Other Talk
Reload this Page >

I'm at a crossroads in my career and I'm not sure what to do.

Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion and Politics

Old 02-23-05, 02:28 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Fellow Otters,

Posting on this board over the last several years has been one of the great parts of my day. While I usually limit my posts to lighter stuff, I'm at a place in my life right now where I could use a little direction.

I've been an attorney with a small (8 man) firm now for two and a half years. I started there when I got out of law school and I figured I be there for a long time. When I started, I was told I could probably be a partner in about five years. Now, they tell me that they can't promise when that will happen, and it's largely going to depend on how I help build the business up over time. As it stands, I make about $48,000 per year plus a third of whatever revenue i bring in. I'm just starting to get my own client base going and it should continue growing over time. If it worked out and I became a partner, I'd make more than at a big firm and work less to boot.

About a month ago, a friend of mine with a big local firm came to me about possibly coming to his firm as an associate. I'd probably come in around $90,000, but I'd have to bill around 1900 hours per year and could expect to work Saturdays and late nights fairly often. I know it's a huge financial gain and I don't want to let my family down, but my gut tells me I might not like it. I met with several members of the big firm today and got a strange vibe. I'm terrified of making the wrong choice.

Any thoughts?

P.S. This is a hell of a way to spend my 32nd birthday.
Old 02-23-05, 02:30 PM
DVD Talk Legend

What's more important to you - spending time with your family, or making lots of money?
Old 02-23-05, 02:31 PM
DVD Talk God

Received 21 Likes on 18 Posts
Take the lump sum.
Old 02-23-05, 02:32 PM
DVD Talk God