Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Other Talk
Reload this Page >

Lawyers: what was your Bar preparation method?

Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

Old 02-22-05, 11:56 AM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

What review course?
Study schedule?

Etc.

Thanks
Old 02-22-05, 12:01 PM
DVD Talk God

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Barbri

I didn't do anything from graduation until the Barbri course started, so that gave me about 3 weeks off. The first couple weeks of Barbri - I just went to the classes; no home study. Then in late June, I started studying and doing MBE questions - probably about 3 hrs per day at home in addition to going to bar review. After 2 weeks of that (which coincided with Barbri ending) I switched over to essay practice questions - about 3-4 hrs per day for 2 weeks. Then with about a week left and solely did MBE questions for about 3-4 hours per day.

In other words, I didn't knock myself out and I comfortably passed. However, do what you feel comfortable with - everyone is different.
Old 02-22-05, 12:07 PM

Toad,

course?-I have taken and passed the bar exam in MN and CA. I took Barbri and PMBR. If you have an employer that is paying, take both. The PMBR course is 3 days and is scheduled not to overlap with Barbri. If you are paying, Barbri alone is sufficient. Taking Barbri raises your chances of success dramatically.

Study methods- Everyone does their own thing, but here is what I did. Go to EVERY lecture and review. Pay attention. Barbri is focused on getting you to pass, not teaching you the law. There are a lot of tips here. If you miss a class, get the tape for that class and listen to it. Use the class notes as your study guide. This will give you 80% of what you need for the essays. Do tons of the multisate multiple choice questions. These will prepare you for the MBE as well as halp with your issue spotting and black letter law.