Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

How can i get a good credit card?

Old 01-11-05, 10:38 PM

How can i get a good credit card?

I already have a capital one card, but i want one with a higher credit limit. I always paid my amount in full each month and i always use it and i have no late payments, so i guess my credit is good. I'm a college student with a low income job. Where can i go get a good card?

EDIT: I just checked my credit score from Experian and i got a 736.

Last edited by NYSoprano; 01-11-05 at 10:52 PM.
Old 01-11-05, 10:51 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Does 'good card' mean higher credit limit, lower APR, or both?

Have you tried calling your credit card company and requesting a limit increase?
Old 01-11-05, 10:56 PM

I would like both. Before i posted, i called capital one and with the automatic phone machine i requested a limit increase and was denied. That made me go "FUCK you, capital one." After always paying on time they give me the shaft. Anyway, i want a new card.
Old 01-11-05, 11:04 PM

As a student and low income job, I think two many credit cards will hurt your credit score. And if your current credit score is bad, and your applications for new credit cards keep getting denied, that will further lower your score. Did capital one actually pulled your credit report? MAybe if you talk to a live person you will have better chance. 736 is pretty dang good. I got a MBNA card when I was in college with $800CL, but they increased automaticaly every few months and now I got $15K!

Maybe you can get try getting those "studnet" credit card. I think Amex and Citi has those, along with other major issuers.

My credit score is less than yours (700s) and I just got approved for a 0% credit card from Chase.
Old 01-11-05, 11:05 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition