Reload this Page >

What do you do?

Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

What do you do?

Old 01-05-05, 11:15 AM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What do you do?

I sure this has been done before but after reading the thread that dealt with Christmas bonuses I started to wonder what it is all you kooky otters do for a living. Some are well known (kvrdave) but others remain a mystery.

Anyhow, in 2005 I'm looking to change careers and/or go back to school and I'm facing a problem that has puzzled us all at one point or another. I don't know what to do with my life. I'd like to get some ideas.

So lets hear it. What do you do? How did you get that job? Do you like it? If you went to school, what did you go to school for? I'll go first.

I'm 28 years old. I graduated from the University of Michigan with a bachelors degree in Organizational Studies. I am a district manager for a chain of self storage facilities. I greatly dislike my job.

That way easy. So, what do you do?
Old 01-05-05, 11:16 AM
DVD Talk God

I raise rents.
Old 01-05-05, 11:16 AM
DVD Talk Ruler

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Pimp.
Old 01-05-05, 11:22 AM
DVD Talk Legend

U of M has one of the best business schools in the country.
Old 01-05-05, 11:31 AM
DVD Talk Legend

I suck up to clients.
Old 01-05-05, 11:34 AM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

kind of in the same position as you.. what do you like to do as a hobby? cook, work on computers, garden, paint, surf for p0rn... maybe it can turn into a career.
Old 01-05-05, 11:37 AM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

ACH (Automated Clearing House) Electronic debits & credits.

Example: If you have your paycheck direct deposited, or pay a bill online etc, those debits and credits are what I deal with. I send and receive a lot of files to the Federal Reserve on behalf of other institutions, and help our clients with issues, as there are a whole lot of rules and regulations that have to be followed.