Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > General Discussions > Other Talk
Reload this Page >

Question about rotating blinds

Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion and Politics

Question about rotating blinds

Old 10-20-04, 12:41 PM
  #1  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IL
Posts: 68
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question about rotating blinds

Ok I have a question that we argued about at my last tournament. There's a bunch of us that play our own weekly tourney every wednesday. So it's a pretty friendly game, but we try to stick as close to real tournament rules as possible.

The situation comes up when a player is eliminated when he is on the big blind. What happens next hand?

What we usually do is just have a big blind the next hand and the dealer will deal two hands in a row. But someone else argued that we should just rotate the blinds and let someone get out of posting a big.

Any thoughts??
Old 10-20-04, 01:19 PM
  #2  
DVD Talk God
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Directionally Challenged (for DirecTV)
Posts: 123,509
Likes: 0
Received 21 Likes on 18 Posts
I believe that if BB is knocked out, then player to BB's left is next BB and there is no SB. Then continue as normal.
Old 10-20-04, 08:32 PM
  #3  
DVD Talk Gold Edition
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Space Junk Galaxy
Posts: 2,471
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally posted by Red Dog
I believe that if BB is knocked out, then player to BB's left is next BB and there is no SB. Then continue as normal.
This is correct. Also on the next hand dealt, the button moves to the empty seat and the two players to the left post the blinds.
Old 10-21-04, 09:38 AM
  #4  
DVD Talk Legend
 
LurkerDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: The People's Republic of Boulder
Posts: 22,230
Received 24 Likes on 18 Posts
wierd. I just posted a thread with this exact same question, and after posting saw this thread (and deleted mine)
Old 10-21-04, 12:43 PM
  #5  
DVD Talk God
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Directionally Challenged (for DirecTV)
Posts: 123,509
Likes: 0
Received 21 Likes on 18 Posts
Originally posted by CreatureX
This is correct. Also on the next hand dealt, the button moves to the empty seat and the two players to the left post the blinds.

That's right. I knew I had forgotten something.
Old 10-24-04, 06:27 PM
  #6  
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: IL
Posts: 68
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally posted by CreatureX
This is correct. Also on the next hand dealt, the button moves to the empty seat and the two players to the left post the blinds.
Ok thanks for the help. I figured it was better to have one guy essentially get the button twice in a row rather than have one guy get to skip out on the big blind.

This definitely settles some arguments we've had lately. Thanks.
Old 10-24-04, 07:22 PM
  #7  
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,292
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
yes, you'll have just a big blind sometimes and the button stays essentially in the same spot, known as a dead button. PP does it where the player misses the BB and that's incorrect IMO.
Old 10-24-04, 07:37 PM
  #8  
DVD Talk Limited Edition
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: wishing I was in Vegas
Posts: 6,646
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Really? That's not right. And that's not an opinion.
Old 10-24-04, 08:29 PM
  #9  
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,292
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
TDA rule #6

http://www.pokerpages.com/articles/b.../tda-rules.htm
Old 10-24-04, 09:23 PM
  #10  
DVD Talk Limited Edition
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: wishing I was in Vegas
Posts: 6,646
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Leave us not forget "Blind and Button Use" #1b
Old 10-25-04, 02:35 AM
  #11  
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,292
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
So you are agreeing with me, right? I don't know why PP does it the way they do.
Old 10-25-04, 08:38 AM
  #12  
DVD Talk Limited Edition
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: wishing I was in Vegas
Posts: 6,646
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally posted by J-Dubya
So you are agreeing with me, right?
I see the confusion. Yes, totally agree, and you don't need an opinion on it since it's a published rule.

Sorry 'bout that.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.