Reload this Page >

Going to climb Mt. Fuji - I made it! - added full story

Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

Going to climb Mt. Fuji - I made it! - added full story

Old 08-28-04, 01:57 AM
Premium Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Going to climb Mt. Fuji

Kumar J's thread last week gave me the idea.

Its 3pm Saturday in Japan and I have a ticket for the bus at 5:50. Right now there is light rain in Tokyo (shinjukju) so I might have a bad time but I am hoping it will clear. I have all my gear so I should be fine.

I get to Fuji around 8 or 9 pm. It will be at the 5th station which is half way up. Then I will start up. My plan is to catch a few hour sleeping before the top so I can adjust to the altitude because I am starting from sea level. I have a 40 degree bag but if it raining I will go to a hut at the 8th station and try and get it. I here they suck and you are shoulder to shoulder but it will eb cool if its raining.

Then I will head for the top before sunrise @5am!!!!

hope there is not too much rain

Let you know tomorrow!

Later

Last edited by bfrank; 08-28-04 at 02:22 AM.
Old 08-28-04, 02:07 AM

LOTS OF PICTURES!!!!!!

wow, i'm jealous. really good luck, be safe and enjoy what the earth has to offer.
Old 08-28-04, 02:11 AM
Suspended

Wasn't the codeword actually "Climb Mt. Niitaka"?
Old 08-28-04, 02:20 AM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

Good luck and have fun. Right now I'm in the southern end of Japan (Kagoshima) and we're about to get hit by a typhoon.
Hope none of that bad weather makes its way up by where you are.
Old 08-28-04, 02:21 AM
Premium Member

http://story.news.yahoo.com/news?tmp...1530&ncid=1112

Yeap me too. Its not raining here yet and I will be back on the bus at 1pm tomorrow. I think I am cool but I will have to watch out and be careful.

Might be pretty wet though
Old 08-28-04, 02:23 AM
DVD Talk Hero

good luck B!

let us know how it goes!
Old 08-28-04, 02:26 AM
Premium Member

here is a live cam and it looks cool right now