Reload this Page >

Cassini-Huygens: Seven Year Journey Accomplished

Other Talk "Otterville" plus Religion/Politics

Old 06-30-04, 11:29 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Couldn't believe there wasn't a thread on this already... I guess I'm just a hard-core space geek, but I've been anticipating tonight for well over seven years. Sadly Cassini-Huygens doesn't get the press or prestige that the Mars Rovers had earlier this year, but what a mission this is going to be.

Been watching Nasa-TV for the last three hours, and Cassini has finished engine burn and accomplished the burn within a second of the predicted "perfect" scenario according to Nasa-TV. Data from the entry into Saturn orbit should start tomorrow, but it sure is nice to see a nearly decade-long plan go perfectly. Nearly every bit of data from the mission thus far indicates that the burn simply could not have possibly gone any better.

Since tonight's entry into orbit around Saturn also included the spacecrafts closest approach to the planet, there should be a truck-load of data coming out over the next few days/weeks.

Then come January with Huygens... Next stop: Titan.
Old 06-30-04, 11:44 PM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Right on
Old 06-30-04, 11:48 PM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

[Arnold] But honey, I'm not interested in Saturn, only Marsss![/Arnold]
Old 07-01-04, 12:02 AM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Is the Huygens probe equipped with a camera, or just analyzers?
Old 07-01-04, 12:07 AM
DVD Talk Godfather

Received 68 Likes on 50 Posts
Glad to see a NASA program go well.
Old 07-01-04, 12:08 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 84 Likes on 54 Posts
I'm not sure, but I don't remember reading anything about the probe having a camera.

Things are going very well so far. Hope that continues.
Old 07-01-04, 12:15 AM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Damn, it would have been sweet to have pics like this one coming back from Titan.

Old 07-01-04, 12:41 AM
DVD Talk Special Edition