Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Entertainment Discussions > Music Talk
Reload this Page >

Have you officially stopped buying compact discs?

Community
Search
Music Talk Discuss music in all its forms: CD, MP3, DVD-A, SACD and of course live
View Poll Results: Are you done purchasing CDs?
Yes
21.35%
No
44.94%
Occasionally if it's something I really want a physical copy of
33.71%
Voters: 89. You may not vote on this poll

Have you officially stopped buying compact discs?

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-19, 09:10 PM
DVD Talk Reviewer & TOAT Winner

Received 331 Likes on 250 Posts
Re: Have you officially stopped buying compact discs?

I've been buying CDs since 1985, the only advancement to come along since then has been SACD and that's had generally bad support overall and for the most part replaced by Blu-Ray albums which aren't considered a different format.

I fail to see how more 'convenient' buying digital music is even more than movies- at least if I buy a digital movie I can fire up a few different apps on my Roku and watch it. I don't see any way to do the same for music other than through Amazon or Google Play. I have a bunch of free music on both but the interfaces are a bit awkward. Seems like if I bought a digital album I'd either have to use Amazon Music on the Roku (I don't think there even is any way to listen to Google Play music on that), buy an Apple TV unit to use ITunes, or download it to something- and then how would I listen to it on my main system?