Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Entertainment Discussions > Music Talk
Reload this Page >

Is it me or does Satellite Radio sound terrible?

Community
Search
Music Talk Discuss music in all its forms: CD, MP3, DVD-A, SACD and of course live

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-15, 06:31 AM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Received 90 Likes on 70 Posts

I just purchased a new truck and I got a 6 month subscription to Sirius Satellite Radio. I really looked forward to this because of the endless channels they have of specific music stations.

After a week of listening I have to say it sounds terrible!!! I switched back to my FM stations to compare and its like night and day! For anyone old enough to remember it feels like Satelitte Radio are cassette tapes, and FM stations feels like CD's.

I am really re-thinking whether I will continue with Sirius Satellite once my free subscription is up because the music stations sound so bad.

Anyone else have notice this?
Old 03-20-15, 06:45 AM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 1,078 Likes on 653 Posts
Re: Is it me or does Satellite Radio sound terrible?

It has always sounded compressed and flat to me with very little bass response.

I still subscribe strictly because of the large variety of stations and music and my normal radio stations around here (with the exception of one) are awful.
Old 03-20-15, 07:52 AM
DVD Talk Hero

Received 49 Likes on 38 Posts

Originally Posted by mcnabb
I just purchased a new truck and I got a 6 month subscription to Sirius Satellite Radio. I really looked forward to this because of the endless channels they have of specific music stations.

After a week of listening I have to say it sounds terrible!!! I switched back to my FM stations to compare and its like night and day! For anyone old enough to remember it feels like Satelitte Radio are cassette tapes, and FM stations feels like CD's.