Music Talk Discuss music in all its forms: CD, MP3, DVD-A, SACD and of course live

Recommend Recent Albums for A Fan of Classic Rock

Old 12-20-09, 09:45 AM
  #26  
DVD Talk Hall of Fame
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Chicago
Posts: 8,159
Re: Recommend Recent Albums for A Fan of Classic Rock

Originally Posted by Heat View Post
If you want to hear a discussion of them as well as a couple songs (not complete), there is a review of their album starting at 46:15 on the November 20, 2009 Sound Opinions podcast: http://www.podtrac.com/pts/redirect....podshow208.mp3

Maybe you will like it but listen to their discussion before you buy it. One loves it, the other didn't really like it and noted that the lyrics are pretty bad, like "I will let you caligu-love me".
I like Sound Opinions, but they frequently get it wrong. The Them Crooked Vultures album rocks, I can't get enough of it. It's not exactly the type of thing you listen to for the lyrics...
Hiro11 is offline  
Old 12-22-09, 02:53 PM
  #27  
Cool New Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 26
Re: Recommend Recent Albums for A Fan of Classic Rock

I'd just like to say thanks for all the suggestions, out of all the groups The Gaslight Anthem and My Morning Jacket are my favorites so far. Mudcrutch also sounds very good. I'm still listening to more of the suggestions. Thanks!
Mayoman is offline  
Old 12-22-09, 09:55 PM
  #28  
DVD Talk Legend
 
Drexl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 16,004
Re: Recommend Recent Albums for A Fan of Classic Rock

Give Arcade Fire's Neon Bible album a try. I know Funeral is more acclaimed, but I think NB is more accessible.
Drexl is offline  
Old 12-23-09, 10:11 AM
  #29  
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 4,769
Re: Recommend Recent Albums for A Fan of Classic Rock

See what you think of the Black Keys' album, "Magic Potion." They have that classic blues/rock sound. One of my favorites.
Palaver is offline  
Old 12-23-09, 10:16 AM
  #30  
DVD Talk Godfather
 
The Bus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 54,869
Re: Recommend Recent Albums for A Fan of Classic Rock

People here seem to say that The Soundtrack of Our Lives has a very "classic rock" feel about them.
The Bus is offline  
Old 12-23-09, 10:18 AM
  #31  
DVD Talk Godfather
 
The Bus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 54,869
Re: Recommend Recent Albums for A Fan of Classic Rock

Here is the opening track from Behind the Music:

The Bus is offline  
Old 12-23-09, 03:35 PM
  #32  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 852
Re: Recommend Recent Albums for A Fan of Classic Rock

If you like some of the heavier 70's stuff like Sabbath, I'd check out a group called "the Sword". Age of Winters in particular is porbably my favorite album of the 00's.
JHosk is offline  
Old 12-23-09, 03:37 PM
  #33  
DVD Talk Legend
 
cungar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 21,495
Re: Recommend Recent Albums for A Fan of Classic Rock

Originally Posted by The Bus View Post
People here seem to say that The Soundtrack of Our Lives has a very "classic rock" feel about them.
They're a very Who sounding band.
cungar is offline  
Old 12-23-09, 05:18 PM
  #34  
DVD Talk Special Edition
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,866
Re: Recommend Recent Albums for A Fan of Classic Rock

Originally Posted by rw2516 View Post
More recent releases from classic artists

Blue Oyster Cult-Curse Of The Hidden Mirror, Heaven Forbid
Tom Petty-Highway Companion
Bob Seger-Face The Promise
John Fogerty-Revival
Whitesnake-Good To Be Bad
Mellencamp-Freedom Road
Rush-Snakes And Arrows
Rolling Stones-A Bigger Bang
Neil Young-Greendale
ZZ Top-Mescalero

Most sound retro and could have been released 25 years ago and nobody would know the difference.

No offense. There are some good albums there, I loved the Petty and Mellencamp ones. But isn't the whole point recommending the OP newer acts he might enjoy instead of those who have been around for 30+ years?
nothingfails is offline  
Old 12-23-09, 05:23 PM
  #35  
DVD Talk Limited Edition
 
clckworang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The toe nail of Texas
Posts: 7,365
Re: Recommend Recent Albums for A Fan of Classic Rock

I really like the Detroit Cobras. The group covers lots of soul and R&B songs from the '50s and '60s but with a bit more garage rock sound to them. The lead singer is a woman and she can really belt it out. I really enjoy her voice.
clckworang is offline  
Old 12-23-09, 05:27 PM
  #36  
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition
 
covenant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 4,908
Re: Recommend Recent Albums for A Fan of Classic Rock

Originally Posted by nothingfails View Post
No offense. There are some good albums there, I loved the Petty and Mellencamp ones. But isn't the whole point recommending the OP newer acts he might enjoy instead of those who have been around for 30+ years?

let me help you with that:

Originally Posted by Mayoman View Post
Hi,

Also I'd like to know if any of these older artists (1970s) have put out any decent albums lately.
Thanks.
covenant is offline  
Old 12-23-09, 10:57 PM
  #37  
DVD Talk Platinum Edition
 
DaveWadding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 3,896
Re: Recommend Recent Albums for A Fan of Classic Rock

Did you like KISS or Ace's 78 solo album? He just put out a new one called Anomaly that is fucking awesome.
DaveWadding is offline  
Old 12-24-09, 12:10 AM
  #38  
DVD Talk Legend
 
bunkaroo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chicago West Suburbs
Posts: 15,602
Re: Recommend Recent Albums for A Fan of Classic Rock

Originally Posted by Sean O'Hara View Post
If you like prog-rock, try Muse and Porcupine Tree.
Heartily agreed, especially PT.
bunkaroo is offline  
Old 12-24-09, 08:13 PM
  #39  
Needs to contact an admin about multiple accounts
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 45
Re: Recommend Recent Albums for A Fan of Classic Rock

Buckcherry
Blackstone Cherry
Shinedown
Geoffy is offline  
Old 12-24-09, 11:25 PM
  #40  
DVD Talk Hero
 
Rypro 525's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: a frikin hellhole
Posts: 28,263
Re: Recommend Recent Albums for A Fan of Classic Rock

Clutch, in particular the song "Electric Worry" from the album "from beal street to oblivion"
Rypro 525 is offline  
Old 12-25-09, 12:02 AM
  #41  
DVD Talk Legend
 
Heat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Central Illinois
Posts: 16,701
Re: Recommend Recent Albums for A Fan of Classic Rock

Originally Posted by Rypro 525 View Post
Clutch, in particular the song "Electric Worry" from the album "from beal street to oblivion"
...
Nice! Reminds me of ZZ Top music.
Heat is offline  
Old 12-28-09, 12:12 PM
  #42  
DVD Talk Platinum Edition
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: chicago
Posts: 3,103
Re: Recommend Recent Albums for A Fan of Classic Rock

comets on fire
chino77 is offline  
Old 12-28-09, 12:53 PM
  #43  
DVD Talk Hero
 
slop101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 40,176
Re: Recommend Recent Albums for A Fan of Classic Rock

Drunk Horse

Five Horse Johnson

Earl Greyhound
slop101 is offline  
Old 12-28-09, 03:14 PM
  #44  
DVD Talk Hall of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: East of Ypsi
Posts: 8,896
Re: Recommend Recent Albums for A Fan of Classic Rock

Originally Posted by clckworang View Post
I really like the Detroit Cobras. The group covers lots of soul and R&B songs from the '50s and '60s but with a bit more garage rock sound to them. The lead singer is a woman and she can really belt it out. I really enjoy her voice.
Yep, they are great.
auto is offline  
Old 01-22-10, 08:14 PM
  #45  
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 125
Re: Recommend Recent Albums for A Fan of Classic Rock

Airbourne - http://www.myspace.com/airbourne
The Answer - http://www.myspace.com/theanswerrock
Atomic Bitchwax - http://www.myspace.com/theatomicbitchwax
Backdraft - http://www.myspace.com/backdraftse
Back Door Slam - http://www.myspace.com/backdoorslam
Beitthemeans - http://www.myspace.com/beitthemeansofficial
Beautiful Creatures - http://www.myspace.com/beautifulcreatures
Big Elf - http://www.myspace.com/bigelf
Blackberry Smoke - http://www.myspace.com/blackberrysmoke
The Black Keys - http://www.myspace.com/theblackkeys
Black Mountain - http://www.myspace.com/blackmountain
The Bluestation - http://www.myspace.com/thebluestation
Broken Teeth - http://www.myspace.com/brokenteeth
The Brought Low - http://www.myspace.com/broughtlow
The Bulletmonks - http://www.myspace.com/bulletmonks
Captain Murphy - http://www.myspace.com/captainmurphymusic
Charm City Devils - http://www.myspace.com/charmcitydevils
Colour Haze - http://www.myspace.com/colourhaze
Danko Jones - http://www.myspace.com/dankojones
Delilah Why - http://www.myspace.com/delilahwhy
Dexter Jones' Circus Orchestra -
Dirty Sweet - http://www.myspace.com/dirtysweetmusic
Doomfoxx - http://www.myspace.com/doomfoxx
Earl Greyhound - http://www.myspace.com/earlgreyhound
Eldemur Krimm - http://www.myspace.com/eldemurkrimm
Electric Earth - http://www.myspace.com/electricearthband
Electric Mary - http://www.myspace.com/electricmary
Federale - http://www.myspace.com/federale
Firebird - http://www.myspace.com/firebirdpage
Five Horse Johnson - www.myspace.com/fhj
Fort - http://www.myspace.com/fortrock
The Forty-Fives - http://www.myspace.com/TheFortyFives
The Fumes - http://www.myspace.com/thefumesoz
Gentleman's Pistols - http://www.myspace.com/gentlemanspistols
Giants of Science - http://www.myspace.com/giantsofscienceaustralia
Glyder - http://www.myspace.com/glyder
Gotthard - http://www.myspace.com/gotthard
Grady - http://www.myspace.com/gradyaustin
The Grand - http://cdbaby.com/cd/thegrand2
The Greenhornes - http://www.myspace.com/thegreenhornes
Greenleaf - http://www.myspace.com/greenleafheavyrock
Hellfueled - http://www.myspace.com/hellfueled
Highway Child - http://www.myspace.com/highwaychilddk
The Illuminati - http://www.myspace.com/theilluminati
Jorn - http://www.myspace.com/realjorn
Kamchatka - http://www.myspace.com/kamchatkasweden
Kaross - http://www.myspace.com/kaross
King Hobo - http://www.myspace.com/kinghobo
King Karma - http://www.myspace.com/kingkarma
Kings of Leon - www.myspace.com/kingsofleon
Loading Data - http://www.myspace.com/loadingdata
The Lonely H - http://www.myspace.com/thelonelyh
Lotus - http://www.myspace.com/lotusfruitage
The Machine - http://www.myspace.com/themachineband
Masters of Reality - http://www.myspace.com/mastersofrealityfan
Mofro - http://www.myspace.com/mofroband
Mother Superior - http://www.myspace.com/mothersuperiorrock
The Muggs - http://www.myspace.com/themuggs
Mustasch - http://www.myspace.com/mustasch
My Uncle the Wolf - http://www.myspace.com/myunclethewolf
The Parlor Mob - http://www.myspace.com/theparlormob
Queens of the Stone Age - www.myspace.com/queensofthestoneage
The Quill - http://www.myspace.com/thequillofficial
The Quireboys - http://www.myspace.com/thequireboys
The Raconteurs - http://www.myspace.com/theraconteurs
Radio Moscow - http://www.myspace.com/radiomoscow
The Redwalls - http://www.myspace.com/theredwalls
Rhino Bucket - http://www.myspace.com/rhinobucketmusic
Rose Hill Drive - http://www.myspace.com/rosehilldrive
Skullboogey - http://www.myspace.com/skullboogey
The Soulbreaker Company - http://www.myspace.com/thesoulbreakercompany
The Soulshake Express - http://www.myspace.com/thesoulshakeexpress
Sparanza - http://www.myspace.com/sparzanza
Spiritual Beggars - http://www.myspace.com/spiritualbeggars
Supagroup - http://www.myspace.com/supagroup
Tokyo Dragons - http://www.myspace.com/tokyodragons
Tracy Starr - http://www.myspace.com/tracystarr
Tricky Woo - http://www.myspace.com/trickywoo
Trouble - http://www.myspace.com/troublechicago
Universal Temple of Divine Power - http://www.myspace.com/theuniversaltempleofdivinepower
Voodooland - http://www.myspace.com/voodooland
Wallrus - http://www.myspace.com/wwwmyspacecomwallrus
Wet Animal - http://www.myspace.com/wetanimal
White Cowbell Oklahoma - http://www.myspace.com/whitecowbelloklahoma
Whitestarr - http://www.myspace.com/whitestarr
The Wildhearts - http://www.myspace.com/thewildhearts
Zed Head - http://www.myspace.com/zedheadrock
Zeus - http://www.myspace.com/rockzeus
Mistoffeleez is offline  
Old 01-22-10, 09:38 PM
  #46  
DVD Talk Hero
 
slop101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: So. Cal.
Posts: 40,176
Re: Recommend Recent Albums for A Fan of Classic Rock

Ocean Colour Scene

You can hear their new album right here and here.

Last edited by slop101; 01-22-10 at 09:40 PM.
slop101 is offline  
Old 01-25-10, 11:23 PM
  #47  
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 900
Re: Recommend Recent Albums for A Fan of Classic Rock

How about some Fu Manchu? great music for driving

terrible chong is offline  
Old 01-25-10, 11:30 PM
  #48  
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 900
Re: Recommend Recent Albums for A Fan of Classic Rock

Monster Magnet

terrible chong is offline  
Old 01-25-10, 11:32 PM
  #49  
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 900
Re: Recommend Recent Albums for A Fan of Classic Rock

Priestess

terrible chong is offline  
Old 01-25-10, 11:33 PM
  #50  
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 900
Re: Recommend Recent Albums for A Fan of Classic Rock

And of course The Darkness

terrible chong is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.