Music Talk Discuss music in all its forms: CD, MP3, DVD-A, SACD and of course live

Any love for Saul Williams?

Old 09-14-05, 07:40 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Any love for Saul Williams?

I have been listening to Amethyst Rock Star for a couple years now and only about a month ago got around to picking up his new (2004) self titled album. After listening to it for a month pretty steadily i can honestly say he has moved into position as probably my favorite hip-hop artist. The poet/musician is just absolutely incredible. I also just noticed his website has two videos on it i need to check out - one for List of Demands and the other is for Black Stacey.

Anyone else listening to him or otherwise a fan?
Old 09-14-05, 08:03 PM

I first saw him on the Chris Rock show a while back. Great there.
Then he opened up for the Mars Volta...but that show sold out.
List of Demands video = great.
Then the other week Black Stacey showed and was great as well.

He was the guest on Subterranean a few weeks back. Wearing a Public Enemy shirt and talking about "real hip hop with meaning." The host asked "Yeah, where has that gone" Referring to himself, Saul replied with the most confindent answer "It's right here."

Good stuff, so I'll show some love.
Old 09-14-05, 09:38 PM

I remember seeing the Mars Volta at the Showbox in 2003, and I didn't even know who Saul Williams was or anything like that. Then he came out, unfurled a roll of paper and read through it, the passion in his voice rising and the emotion boiling over with every passing word. After his first bit, he simply said, "I bet you were expecting a beat to drop, huh?"

I have never been blown away by something like I was that night with his set. His albums are equally as energetic, and I would recommend fans to check out "Slam," which he acted in (and might have had a writing/producing credit). Good stuff.
Old 09-14-05, 10:14 PM