Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Entertainment Discussions > Music Talk
Reload this Page >

Ice-T O.G. Original Gangster

Music Talk Discuss music in all its forms: CD, MP3, DVD-A, SACD and of course live

Old 12-21-03, 08:59 AM
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Why can't rap be like this again? Ice showed so much potential on this album, and never delivered. Good thing he had "acting" to fall back on.

New Jack City rules!
Old 12-21-03, 09:10 AM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Received 26 Likes on 25 Posts
Man, I loved this CD in high school. I think it still holds up, but I agree that Icd-T's output afterwards pales in comparison.

H-U-S-T-L-E-R Hustler!

And that Halloween sample kicks butt.
Old 12-21-03, 11:25 AM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Bust: I thought you didn't like rap? Or is it just the current crop of rap that you dislike?
Old 12-21-03, 12:16 PM
Banned

I listened to NOTHING else from about '91-'96 (the year I graduated from High School). I still ocassionally like a song here and there, but none of it feels real anymore. Quality has given way to quantity (if you don't believe me, just look at the barrage of crap Master P put out on his label to cash in on his 15 minutes. This is just one example of many.)
Old 12-21-03, 11:58 PM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Man, give me some of that damn fried chicken!
Old 12-22-03, 08:43 AM

Ice-t's best.
Have it on cassette since 1991,
just recently pick up the CD.

Nothing beats old school rap (1983-1992)
Old 12-22-03, 02:41 PM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I used to have this CD, but I lent it out, and it came back scratched all to hell.
Power, The Iceberg, OG...
you're giving me high school flashbacks.
Old 12-22-03, 06:20 PM
DVD Talk Legend

Received 49 Likes on 43 Posts
Originally posted by Bust