Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Entertainment Discussions > Music Talk
Reload this Page >

Song that got you into heavy metal? [or hard/heavy rock]

Music Talk Discuss music in all its forms: CD, MP3, DVD-A, SACD and of course live

Song that got you into heavy metal? [or hard/heavy rock]

Old 08-12-03, 09:01 AM
DVD Talk Gold Edition

Song that got you into heavy metal?

I have been listening to metal faithfully since 1982. I was wondering what song was the one that opened the door to this genre of music for the other metalheads on this board. For me, I saw the videos for "Another Thing Comin" by Priest and "Run to the Hills" by Maiden. Then shortly afterward, a friend of mine introduced me to the Diary of a Madman album. From there I started listening to a variety of bands and started getting into thrash when I bought "Kill Em All", "Fistful of Metal" and "All For One." Over the years I got into industrial, techno and classic rock, but still continued to listen to metal the whole time. I don't think I'll ever stop...
Old 08-12-03, 10:10 AM

For me, it was the song "Last in Line" by Dio and Metallica's "Ride the Lightning" album.

Ironically enough, I first got into these at a church retreat.
Old 08-12-03, 10:34 AM
DVD Talk Godfather

It wasn't a song but a "look".

The first time I saw a picture of KISS I was hooked. I know they're aren't really Metal so I'll say that Iron Maiden...their music and their album covers pushed me the rest of the way into Rock/Metal. Of course this instantly turned me into a freak....being the only Black guy in a mostly Black private school that liked ROCK/METAL.

Last edited by Giantrobo; 08-13-03 at 07:42 AM.
Old 08-12-03, 10:50 AM

Metallica "One".
Old 08-12-03, 11:43 AM
DVD Talk Platinum Edition

Aces High by IRON MAIDEN