Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Entertainment Discussions > Music Talk
Reload this Page >

I want to get a NEW acoustic guitar; any recommendations? [merged]

Music Talk Discuss music in all its forms: CD, MP3, DVD-A, SACD and of course live

I want to get a NEW acoustic guitar; any recommendations? [merged]

Old 07-18-03, 07:01 PM
DVD Talk Ultimate Edition

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I want to get a NEW Acoustic guitar; Any reccomendations?

Ive been saving my cash and really love playing acoustic guitar. Ive been playing guitar for 5 years and I think its time for a new acoustic. I already have a Yamaha but want to get one thats an acoustic thats electric and just turn my Yamaha into a classical. The ****** thing is that the music stores here SUCK! Theres not much veriety so I kinda have to go blind buying an acoustic.

So far Im thinking: Ovation - 1861 Standard Balladeer Acoustic-Electric
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/srs7/.../base_id/34650

Ive played Ovations and Applause guitars and I really like em; so Im thinking of going for this one.

Any thoughts or suggestions?
Old 07-18-03, 07:38 PM
DVD Talk Special Edition

Pretty good guitar. Take a look at a few other models, just to see what kind of variety you can get for your money. Martin makes a few that are around that price range. Takamine is a pretty good guitar for a couple hundred dollars less. Epiphone (made by Gibson) makes a pretty decent guitar too, and those are pretty inexpensive.
Old 07-19-03, 11:21 PM
DVD Talk Gold Edition