Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Entertainment Discussions > Music Talk
Reload this Page >

Isn't it weird when a band kicks out a founding member?

Music Talk Discuss music in all its forms: CD, MP3, DVD-A, SACD and of course live

Old 04-07-03, 08:44 PM
DVD Talk God

courtesty of www.mtv.com

Incubus have hired ex-guitarist for the Roots Ben Kenney as their new bassist. Kenney will replace Dirk Lance, who was recently released from duty after 12 years with the band. In a press statement, frontman Brandon Boyd said the band decided to let Lance go after Incubus finished touring for Morning View....

Old 04-07-03, 09:00 PM
Banned

Location: John "57 Varieties" Kerry represents me in the US Senate.
Not to shift the focus of the thread (or, as some call it, "hijack"), but it seems like bassists especially get no love.

It's like it's no big deal to ditch a bassist or record an album without one. "Oh, I'm a guitarist, but if you want I can lay down the tracks on that 4-string thingy as well..."

[Insert "Les Claypool is the heart and soul of Primus" comeback here.]

But back on topic, what are some other examples of booting a founder? I keep thinking of lineup changes, and each time, it never seems as if the (perceived) "creative mastermind" is the one getting the heave-ho.

The only possible example I can come up with is when Def Leppard rid themselves of that Pete Willis guy - but was he a founding member?
Old 04-07-03, 09:29 PM

Man this pisses me off.

I've been a HUGE Incubus fan for about 4-5 years now. A friend of mine turned me on to "S.C.I.E.N.C.E." back in my aggressive music phase in 8th grade. My first real concert was 311/Incubus. I've since seen the band 4 times live altogether.

I love every album they've put out. Right now I'm jamming "S.C.I.E.N.C.E." though. It's going to suck not having Dirk there. Many of there songs pre-Make Yourself will never be played live again I'm assuming. Maybe just "New Skin". That's an awful thing.