Go Back  DVD Talk Forum > Entertainment Discussions > Movie Talk
Reload this Page >

It Was 20 Years Ago Today... (1999 Nostalgia)

Movie Talk A Discussion area for everything movie related including films In The Theaters

It Was 20 Years Ago Today... (1999 Nostalgia)

Old 05-20-19, 07:00 AM
DVD Talk Limited Edition

Received 22 Likes on 16 Posts
Re: It Was 20 Years Ago Today... (1999 Nostalgia)

Ep.1 was the first time I bought tickets for a movie over the phone, got them for the 7 pm showing, opening night at the Uptown theater in DC for my family and best friend. The Uptown was a special theater for us, it's where we went for big event movies. It's an old single screen theater, huge marquee, balcony, people line up for hours to get in.First time I went was for Jurassic Park, the large curved screen blew my mind. I was a sophomore in high school, we skipped the second half of the day, got on the metro to get close to the front of the line. When we arrived, there was two people ahead of us. Coming out of the movie I was pumped, Star Wars was back, the final lightsaber duel was amazing. Over the next year (and dozen viewings), it started to sink in that it wasn't a good movie, but I have a ton of happy memories about the buildup to its release.
Old 05-20-19, 11:02 AM
Banned

Location: Conducting miss-aisle drills and listening to their rock n roll
Received 168 Likes on 126 Posts

My Phantom Menace memory:

I lived in LA at the time and despite all the hype and buildup and epic line camping I was able to buy tickets to the midnight show that day at like 3:00 pm.
Old 05-20-19, 12:48 PM
DVD Talk Hall of Fame

Received 477 Likes on 314 Posts

My Phantom Menace story is embarrassing on a couple of levels.