DVD Talk Forum

DVD Talk Forum (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/)
-   Movie Talk (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/movie-talk-17/)
-   -   The Hobbit - Extended or Theatrical? (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/movie-talk/626132-hobbit-extended-theatrical.html)

kgrogers1979 04-03-15 08:42 PM

The Hobbit - Extended or Theatrical?

I think most everyone prefers the Extended Editions of the LOTR trilogy over the theatrical cuts, but what does everyone prefer for the Hobbit trilogy?

(I know that the third movie doesn't have an EE yet, but whatever.)

I am doing a Hobbit marathon this weekend, which prompted me thinking of this question. I watched the EE of Unexpected Journey tonight, and I plan to watch the EE of Desolation of Smaug tomorrow night, and end with the theatrical cut of Battle of Five Armies on Sunday night. This is my first time watching the EE's.

Honestly, I think I prefer the theatrical cut of Unexpected Journey more. These movies are already bloated, and I don't think the EE really added anything necessary. Most of what it did add was just weird, like the dwarves swimming naked in the fountain and the goblin king's song and dance routine. Those were just a big WTF.

I will watch the EE of Desolation of Smaug tomorrow night for the first time. Hopefully it is better, but I am not counting on it.

hanshotfirst1138 04-03-15 08:50 PM

I still prefer the EEs because I think that they flow better and are richer and have more the Tolkien world, but as the movies are too long anyway, unless you're interested in more, the EEs probably will seem like overkill on overkill.

Why So Blu? 04-03-15 09:54 PM

Re: The Hobbit - Extended or Theatrical?

EE's.

EctoCooler 04-04-15 08:00 PM

Originally Posted by kgrogers1979 (Post 12441923)
I think most everyone prefers the Extended Editions of the LOTR trilogy over the theatrical cuts,

You think wrong.

kgrogers1979 04-04-15 08:23 PM

Originally Posted by EctoCooler (Post 12442541)
You think wrong.