DVD Talk Forum

DVD Talk Forum (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/)
-   Movie Talk (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/movie-talk-17/)
-   -   Lets talk about Editing! (https://forum.dvdtalk.com/movie-talk/585176-lets-talk-about-editing.html)

Solid Snake 01-31-11 02:35 AM

Lets talk about Editing!

As you all know, I'm a film student. Even though we've all been taught the fundamentals of editing and whatnot...you give someone a camera and they edit it themselves right there. We know wtf movies look like. We go for angles, in camera edits, etc..but why are those specific type of editing chosen? When is it proper to choose a form for a specific way?

My overall jive w/ all this is...what films have a very good control of editing AND why or what films could've used more fine tuning? It's a very specific to ask...we may not think about it a lot..but it's there and it matters a lot in constructing a scene to illicit a mood or overall tone/vibe to the film. While the clips I've chosen are action or suspense oriented....it's not just that that have great editing. Films like City Of God and The Social Network have a very strong control of the edit and style from it. For City of God for example....it's more (at least to me) on a visual basis for it's control..while TSN has it very well constructed from Sorkin's dialogue that practically dictates how you want to see it.

Ex: Great editing...Bullitt...on which I've chosen a very good example of great editing...the great car chase from it.

<iframe title="YouTube video player" class="youtube-player" type="text/html" width="480" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/GMc2RdFuOxI" frameborder="0" allowFullScreen></iframe>